I’ve never really even bothered trying to put my mental health into words on a page. It has always been something I’ve struggled to explain, or describe to anyone – especially to those lucky enough to not be battling.. 

As a now “diagnosed” sufferer from high-functioning anxiety paired with depression, I did spend a LONG time in denial, thinking I was going through a sort of teenage-tumblr phase – which a lot of other girls around me at the time seemed to be involved with too. With a pretty shitty time through-out school, I think I just kinda pinned my unhappiness on that – without thinking that there might actually be an underlying problem somewhere. But as time went on and I found my behaviour and sadness was becoming more toxic, dangerous and unexplained – I went to seek help.

tumblr_ms7cf1mmbu1qaxdvpo1_1280

This is in no way supposed to be a quick fix for anyone, but maybe just a few ideas that may make coping and living in general a little easier x

Try to come to terms with the fact that you do have an illness – but that’s OK. 

The most important part for me has always been self-acceptance. The more you realise your mind just works a little differently to others, the easier coping with it will become. There’s nothing to be ashamed or embarrassed about (thankfully the stigma surrounding mental health is slowly disappearing), and talking about how you’re feeling will always help more than anything else. Even if you don’t feel comfortable talking to your GP, school counsellors, or friends/family – there are many other outlets if you look closely enough. Social media platforms (Mental Health Talk EU/UK, Anxiety Depression OCD & PTSD Support),  online support groups or even just writing down how you feel will help lift at least a little of the stress from your shoulders. Just hearing that others are going through the same thing as you can make feelings seem so much less alien and bring you back down to normality – even during your most manic episodes.

 S L E E P

Night time is probably the worst time for me. It’s like everything hits me at once and I can’t escape. The kind of feeling that I want the night to end but I don’t want the morning to start. I don’t want to be awake, but I don’t want to be trapped with my dreams either. Running over every little thing that I’ve ever done that I regret, worrying about things that I might do in the future that I’ll regret – creating situations in my head that in retrospect are ridiculous, but at the time feel so real. BUT things never seem as bad in the morning – which is why, I’ve found getting to sleep is SO important for not only your mind, but your body too.

3820cd4461c58d4d4d1125493a8283f3

A couple of sleep help tips;

  • Make a routine!! This is probs much easier for me to talk about from a girls point of view – but it’s basically down to making yourself relaxed and ready for a state of sleep.
  • Having a hot bubble bath before heading to bed, putting fresh bedding on, wearing clean and comfy pj’s and making herbal teas.
  • If you are struggling to sleep due to over thinking – you could always put something on in the background to try and fall asleep to. If I can’t sleep, I always put my favourite film on (Princess Diaries!!!), familiar noises put your mind at ease and really help you stop worrying.
  • Recently I’ve started to try yoga & meditation. You can find guided tutorials online that are suited to everyone – even if it’s your first time. There are also plenty of podcasts. audio-books that are specifically to help with anxiety sufferers at night time.

 But make sure to not oversleep either. I may seem like the easiest option to just sleep away days when you have nothing to do – but that will in turn have a knock on effect and in the long run will impact your health further. Most adults only need 6-8 hours a night, so stick to that and you will feel a lot better in yourself. Mentally and physically.

 The Headspace app

https://www.headspace.com/headspace-meditation-app – just check it out. Reminds you every day to just take time out of your day and relax. A small thing but mad helpful.

/ An apple a day to keep the sadness away / 

Basically. Eating shit will make you feel like shit – it’s as simple as that. But I am SO guilty of comfort eating when I feel real down, but then regretting it all afterwards. It’s just a shit shit shit cycle.

When you start to eat will, you’ll start feeling a million times better. You’ll feel more energised, find it easier to sleep, be more motivated – most of the things that I struggle with every single day. A good healthy breakfast and cup of tea could be the beginning of one of your best days.

tumblr_miaswh1xz41s520g2o1_500

There are probably another million things that I could say on this but I’ve been rambling for hours. Just remember you have survived 100% of your worst days.

Leave a Reply

